• Office phone: + 44 2890 97 3581

  • Email us:

Officers + Committees

  • The ISSR is governed by a General Assembly of members, which meets at biennial conferences.  
  • More frequent governance is provided by an elected Council, which meets yearly. 
  • Decisions between these meetings are taken by an Executive Committee, consisting of the organization's main officers.
  • Day-to-day operation of the Society is handled by the General Secretary, assisted by the Treasurer.


Jörg Stolz, University of Lausanne, SwitzerlandPresident
Inger Furseth, University of Oslo, NorwayVice-President
Véronique Altglas, Queen's University Belfast, United KingdomGeneral Secretary
Olivier Servais, Catholic University of Louvain, BelgiumTreasurer
Country and Regional Representatives
  • Honorary President: Karel Dobbelaere
  • Past-President: Peter Beyer
  • Kees de Groot (Benelux)
  • Lori G. Beaman (Canada)
  • Irene Becci (Switzerland)
  • Yannick Fer (France)
  • Giuseppe Giordan (Italy)
  • Ana Halafoff (Australasia)
  • Cristina Gutierrez Zuňiga (Mexico)
  • Heidemarie Winkel (Germany)
  • Mia Lövheim (Nordic Countries)
  • Dinka Marinović Jerolimov (Central Europe)
  • Rosa Maria de Aquino (Brazil and South America)
  • Mary Jo Neitz (USA)
  • Yoshihide Sakurai (East Asia and Japan)
  • Fatma Sündal (Eastern Europe)
  • Helena Vilaça (Iberic Peninsula)
  • David Voas (United Kingdom)



  • Program Chair 2019: TBC
  • Chair of the 2019 Conference Local Committee: TBC
Editorial Committee
Coordinator of the New Researcher's Group
Awards Committees
Edit Page


Société Internationale de Sociologie des Religions

International Society for the Sociology of Religion